Home

image.jpeg

Durango, Colorado

Home isn’t just a place where your things reside. Home is a feeling of belonging, a connection to the earth and space around you. I walk along the dusty trails where the pine trees reach towards the heavens and wildflowers grow chaotically here and there as if they just picked a spot, sighed and said, “Yes, this will do nicely”. Maybe next spring their home will be somewhere else, but today they’ve chosen this spot to grow roots and warm their faces in the sun.

I continue my walk, a slight breeze rustles my hair. In the distance I can hear the rushing river. A fat, red breasted Robin lands nearby, pokes around a bit and flies off. As I come around the bend there’s a  boulder a few feet off the trail. It beckons me to sit and I do. From my perch there is a break in the trees and the majestic mountains show through. Bluer than blue skies as far as the eye can see. My soul is quiet and welcomes the respite. This is home to me. Like the wildflower, I don’t know where I’ll be next spring, but for this moment I just sigh, “Yes, this will do nicely”.

~~~~~~

The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quiet, alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be. ~ Anne Frank

About Jody

Jody is a graphic designer and avid reader who lives in Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in Colorado, Essay, life, musings, spiritual, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home

  1. Pepper says:

    Yes indeed. Home IS where the heart is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOVE IT!
    PS
    LOVE YOU TOO!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.