Tommy Lasorda, Baseball, Bucket Lists and Me

Me at the Happiest Place on Earth - Dodger Stadium

Me at the Happiest Place on Earth – Dodger Stadium

I was thinking about bucket lists at a quarter to four this morning. I should have been thinking about sleep, but once sleep leaves and goes wherever it goes, it’s not coming back.

That’s how it is for me anyway.

Of course, I started thinking about what I would want to do if I only had a year to live. The first thing, right off the bat, I’d want to live longer than a year. Not dying is the implied number one thing to do on my Bucket List.

After the not die part, than I’d move on to other things. All the other things involve baseball. Yep, I’m a HUGE baseball fan. My team is the Los Angeles Dodgers. Since I was a young, rough n’ tumble little tomboy kid I’ve been a Dodger fan. Here’s me and my life long pals Susan and Gloria. Aren’t we cute?

Lifelong pals Susan, me and Gloria at a game

Lifelong pals Susan, me and Gloria at a game

I love baseball, the vivid green grass, the dirt, the crack of the bat… sitting in the stands on a hot summer day, drinking a cold beer. Life does not get any better than that for me.

So, without further ado here is my small, humble Baseball Bucket List:

1. See a Dodger game at every single ball park in the US. Even parks they rarely or never play in, they will play one game there for me. I AM dying it’s the least they can do! I want seats in the first row behind the Dodger dugout so they can leap up and high five me. Lastly, I want Tommy Lasorda to go on this baseball tour with me… my husband can come, too.

2. Tommy Lasorda. I want to go to a nice Italian restaurant, Tommy’s choice, have some great food, wine and listen to him talk about baseball… my husband can come, too. I love Tommy Lasorda – the best baseball manager in the history of baseball, in my humble opinion. If I’ve only got one year to live, I want to spend a lot of that year with Tommy… my husband, too.

3. Vin Scully. I want to sit in the booth with Vin as he announces a Dodgers World Series – the Dodgers win. This one should probably be the last thing I do in my year of stuff. I could peacefully go to the great blue beyond if the last words I hear are Vin Scully excitedly saying, “Your World Champion LOS ANGELES DODGERS!” 🎶🎵”I looooove LA….”🎶🎵 blasting over the speakers! Dodger Stadium just rocking…. fans dancing, screaming, celebrating. Nobody lighting cars on fire, looting, fighting or shooting guns in the air! Don’t do that stuff, it’s stupid and you’re stupid if you do it. Celebrate right, man.

Hmmm, wait a second, I don’t want to die in the booth at the World Series….carting out a dead girl might hinder the celebration. My celebration would be hindered for sure.

Ok, erase the last year of my life part… I’m not dying anymore. Bucket Lists are just things you want to do before you die. I don’t know why I morbidly added the one year to live part. So, let’s scratch that. I’m going to live a full happy life, with lots and lots of innings.

Oh, one more thing… if I can’t make it the the Dodger game where this Tommy Lasorda Gnome is the promotional giveaway — PLEASE someone get me one! PLEASE!  It’s really all I want in the world.

My friend, Tommy and the Lasorda Gnome ::sigh::

My friend, Tommy and the Lasorda Gnome ::sigh::

Flowers and diamonds… pffffft. Never, ever kill a flower for me. As for diamonds, the only diamond I care about is the one on the baseball field. A Tommy Lasorda gnome is the way to this girls heart. Maybe Tommy can give it to me after our nice baseball chat dinner!

A girl can dream, can’t she?

About Jody

Jody is a graphic designer and avid reader who lives in Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in baseball, dodgers, Humor, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tommy Lasorda, Baseball, Bucket Lists and Me

  1. In My Cluttered Attic says:

    I love your post Jody, but I love baseball too. However I’m a Giants fan. I know Arggggg. Still love your bucket list though. ;O)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Perk Burnett says:

    Excellent blog Jody…..SD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. you should post a pic on the Lasorda gnome!!

    Pre-game, they showed an interview with Tommy on his honorary degrees, and he shared the latest one he had received, which was 2013 at my alma mater, University of La Verne!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jody says:

      You are right! This blog needs a prologue and a picture of my Tommy Gnome you got for me!

      Like

      • More reasons now to get to Dodger Stadium and get Tommy to sign the gnome for you!
        PS
        I hope I didn’t make you cry too much after this post (or at least let’s hope they were tears of joy the moment you opened that box!)
        ~~S.

        Like

  4. VocareMentor says:

    I’m not really a sports fan or even really a baseball fan. I’m just a devoted Dodger Fan! Excellent Bucket List! Your Number one is on my bucket list as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.