Begin Again

motherchild

BEGIN AGAIN

Short Story 145 Words. Sci-Fi Writing Challenge
Rated PG-13 – Language

I am done, there aren’t enough words in the English language to express how done I am with this life.

I’m Amanda Stevens, 28 years old, and I’ve had enough tragedy to last a lifetime. My parents died in a car accident when I was 5 years old. One abusive foster home after the next. I’m too fucked up to maintain even the most basic relationships. Drugs have destroyed my body and my mind.

I am done with this life.

“Miss, you realize there are no guarantees, right?” The uniformed man states.

“Yeah, no shit.” I reply.

“Ok then, sign here and step into the pod.”

Signing quickly I step in and he shuts the door. I start to choke. Blackness.

The nurse hands the smiling woman her baby. “What will you name her, ma’am?”

With love in her voice she coos, “Amanda… Amanda Stevens”.

About Jody

Jody is a graphic designer and avid reader who lives in Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in short story, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Begin Again

  1. greg says:

    It’s always a pleasure to read a writer capable of expressing without the need for a mega-herd of words. You did a helluvah job of writing a story in a compact package. I loved the lead-in which is most of the story, but the final sentence or two made the story what it is… if at first you don’t succeed, pod…pod, again.

    Great write, great read!

    Like

    • Jody says:

      Thank you, Greg! I love these challenges, they really force the “get to the point” notion.
      I must say, I love your snappy, noir style of writing. My respect for your skill is immense, so your kind words mean alot to me. Thank you.

      Like

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.