The Fixer

Flashnano Day 14 Write a story using the device of repetition

*Perhaps a bit of a cheat, but reworked/edited this story I wrote awhile back.

Jody's World

TheFixer

“My name is Jane Carpenter and I’ve killed a man.”

Not just any man, my husband. His dead eyes stare up at me and I don’t feel an ounce of remorse. I have fixed a mistake of my own making.

You must be wondering, “What kind of monster are you?”

There’s no easy answer to that question, but there is a story. There’s always a story.

I met Jacob Carpenter in a bar one year ago today. Our chemistry was instantaneous, it crackled and we both felt it.

In my own weak defense, I’m a free spirit, I was anyway. Spontaneous to a fault and not one to pay attention to red flags and there were many – even that first night.

Jacob is… was, a straight-laced accountant. Sexy in that brainy, suit wearing kind of way. We were total opposites and in those initial hours, the old adage ‘opposites attract’…

View original post 537 more words

About Jody

This blog, like this girl is an ever-changing work in progress. The second I think I know myself I go and change. I write - some good, some bad. But, I write... I am a writer.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Fixer

  1. sassandsauce says:

    Wow brought chills! Amazing story..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Steven Baird says:

    I remember reading this before, and loved it then. Great story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.

