Landslide

FlashNano Day 20: Take a story you have written (this month). Cut the word count by half. Give it a new title

**Reworked story #1 The Baby Blue Convertible and Me

54-convertible-jack-atkins

My convertible, she’s the perfect shade of sky blue just like I imagined. The white vinyl top is down, of course. This is California, no rain in sight. Cruising down PCH towards San Francisco, but I’ll bypass it and go straight to Monterey. The single most beautiful place in all of California, in my opinion anyway.

Ponytail high, shades on and the ocean breeze licking my neck. Nope, I won’t look over at the parched hillsides, just keeping my eyes on the road and the sea. The vastness of the ocean makes your problems seem small, insignificant even. I need that. Life’s been weighing me down. I need some breathing room. So, I drive – just my sky blue convertible and me.

Clicking through the radio, no Sheryl Crow, but even better, Stevie Nicks, and some “Landslide”. Turn it up; singing at the top of my lungs:

So, take this love and take it down yeah, and if you climb a mountain and ya turn around  And if you see my reflection in the snow covered hills Well the landslide brought me down.

Sun on my face, music on, road open… just drive, won’t let the landslide bring me down.

 

About Jody

Jody is a graphic designer and avid reader who lives in Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Landslide

  1. Steven Baird says:

    Wonderfully descriptive, howl-at-the-moon writing.

    Like

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.