The Baby Blue Convertible and Me

FlashNano Day 1: Write a story that takes place in a car

54-convertible-jack-atkins

She’ll be baby blue… cornflower blue… blue like the sky on a crisp fall morning. She’ll definitely be a convertible, with a white vinyl top. She’ll be so pretty I’ll smile every time I look at her. 

I’ll wear my hair in a high ponytail that blows out behind me while the warm breeze caresses my bare neck. My white, oversized sunglasses will keep the afternoon sun out of my eyes.

I’ll toss one small bag (necessities only!) into the backseat and then, let the journey begin.

Driving along the coast of California – south to north – LA to Frisco. I’ll ignore the brown hillsides desperate for water. So parched you can almost hear them moan. Not a cloud in the sky, no relief in sight for them today. As the song goes, it never rains in California.

I’ll look towards the sea. Water as far as the eye can see, but it offers no respite to the dying land. Drought ridden hills on one side and water on the other – never shall the two meet. Seems unfair.

Traffic is heavy at first, it’s California – movie stars, palm trees and traffic. Although, on an early Sunday morning, when only the heathens are out, it’s not so bad.

The coastline gets a bit rockier, the waves rise and fall unencumbered by surfers riding their watery backs to shore. Just the blue ocean, sandy beaches, and rocky cliffs for miles.

Clicking on the radio and turning the knob (no fancy buttons scan, scan, scanning) I’ll search for some Sheryl Crow. If her music says anything, it’s that she gets it.

Ahhh, luck is with me, found the perfect roadtrippin’ song.

“Everyday is a winding road
I get a little bit closer
Everyday is a faded sign
I get a little bit closer to feeling fine”

Everyday really is a winding road – you wake up, life throws a bunch of shit at you and you just try to avoid it, or if need be, you hit it head on and keep on driving. Next day you start over and do it again.

“I’m just wondering why I feel so all alone
why I’m a stranger in my own life…”

Driving down the road, wind in my hair, sweet convertible hugging the coastline, I’ll spare no time for introspection on loneliness. I’ll just drive – my baby blue convertible and me.

“Jump in, let’s go
Lay back, enjoy the show
everybody gets high, everybody gets low
these are the days when anything goes”

These are the days when anything goes.

**  “Everyday is a Winding Road” Song & Lyrics by Sheryl Crow

About Jody

This blog, like this girl is an ever-changing work in progress. The second I think I know myself I go and change. I write - some good, some bad. But, I write... I am a writer.
This entry was posted in flash fiction, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Baby Blue Convertible and Me

  1. I usually tune in the song “Leaving Las Vegas” as I hit the state line back into Cali, and “All I Wanna Do” when driving around West Hollywood in the daytime.

    Like

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.

