A Living Doll

FlashNano Day 5: Write a story that includes (or at least mentions) a childhood toy

doll2

Long blonde hair neatly parted into two jaunty braids, tied at the ends with festive pink gingham bows. A matching pink gingham skirt that flared at her dimpled knees. A crisp white blouse with ruffles at the collar and sleeves. White ruffled ankle socks and shiny black shoes. Creamy, soft skin. Pouting pink lips and a slightly upturned nose. Eyes a crystalline blue.

She was a gift, a gift I didn’t want. Those blue eyes stared at me, followed me around wherever I went. When she thought I wasn’t looking her pouting mouth pulled up into a sneer. I saw.

Five days and the garbage man would come and I’d throw her away. Tell my mom, I’d lost her. Until then, I placed her high on the shelf behind my bed. If I leaned up I could peek at her in the mirror across from my bed. Just to keep an eye on her.

Every night from high upon her perch she’d whisper down to me, “Hold me.”

For five nights I buried my head under my pillow so I couldn’t hear her pleas.

“Hold me.”

Friday was finally here, I climbed up on my bed and grabbed the doll. Shoving her into a garbage bag I ran outside to throw her in the bin. I sat on the curb and waited for the truck to come and take her away.

As the truck rattled down the street away from my house, I skipped up the walkway to get ready for school.

That night, my mom made my favorite meal for dinner and I went to bed full, happy and ready for a much needed good night’s sleep.

Hours later I was awakened by a noise, it sounded like a hiss. Groggily looking around I caught a reflection in the mirror – blonde hair, crystalline eyes glaring at me from atop the shelf, “Hold me.”

About Jody

Jody is a graphic designer and avid reader who lives in Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in Dolls, flash fiction, Horror, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Living Doll

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.