Escape

FlashNano a challenge to write 30 stories in 30 days with a daily story prompt.

FlashNano Day 2: Write a story that takes place on an airplane

img_5110

“Mommy, what’s Canada like… when’s mama Sue going to get there? Will she bring all my toys? Will I go to a new school… will the kids be nice? Do they care I have two mommies?” Timmy asked in rapid-fire kid fashion.

Linda ruffled Timmy’s hair, “sssh, baby, don’t worry so much. Remember, it’s an adventure. Mama Sue will be on the next flight she had to finish some work.”

“Ok, but… how come the news made you and mama cry last night. I… I snuck out of bed when I heard you. That man was yelling on TV and you and mama were hugging and crying.”

“Oh honey, I’m sorry you heard all that. Remember when we talked about elections and presidents?”

“Yeah, did Pussy Man win?”

“Oh geezus, baby, lower your voice… we told you not to use that word.”

“But, the man on TV said it…”

“I know, but he shouldn’t have said that. It’s not a nice word.”

“Pussy cat is a bad word?” Timmy asked innocently.

“Well, no, but… do you want some juice?” Linda asked trying to change the subject.

“Yes! Orange juice… and peanuts!”

Waving the flight attendant over, Linda ordered juice and peanuts. “How soon until we land?”

“Twenty minutes, ma’am.” The attendant responded while pouring Timmy’s juice and handing him a small bag of peanuts.

“Thank you,” Timmy responded, “Do you like Pussy man?”

“Oh my God! Timmy! What did I just tell you?! I’m so sorry!”

Holding back a laugh, the flight attendant leaned down to whisper, “No, little fella, not so much,” winking at Linda, the flight attendant moved down the aisle.

“Timmy, you can’t use that word. I don’t want to punish you, but…”

“Ok, mommy, I’ll try to remember…”

Quoting Yoda, Linda responded, “Do, not try”.

Laughing, Timmy asked, “Is Pu– oops, that man, bad like Darth Vader?”

“Well, maybe not quite as bad as that, but…”

“Please fasten your seatbelts and put your seats in the upright position. We are making our descent into Vancouver International Airport”.

Waiting to depart the plane a few minutes later, Timmy looked up and asked, “Will we move back to America, mommy?”

Glancing at the empty seat in front of her where a newspaper blared the headline, “Trump Wins!” Linda could only clutch Timmy’s hand a bit tighter and respond, “Hopefully, in four years, baby… just four years.”

About Jody

This blog, like this girl is an ever-changing work in progress. The second I think I know myself I go and change. I write - some good, some bad. But, I write... I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Fiction, flash fiction, short story, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.

