Social Media and the Introvert

project_02

Does Social Media benefit anyone as much as the introvert?

I have always been an introvert. I have had mini-panic attacks at the prospect of being around too many people. If there is a way to avoid it, I will.

Don’t get me wrong, I really like people – almost as much as dogs even! But, I can probably count on one hand the people I’m completely at ease around. I’ve always been shy and shy leads to awkward. There is a plus side to all of this – awkward leads to funny stories, once I’m safe back at my computer.

The me on Social Media is outgoing, funny and open. It’s easier to share yourself from behind a computer. You get to control all aspects of your interactions. You consciously choose what you will say, as opposed to blurting out something stupid and having it sit in the middle of the room as people try to maneuver around it. And if you do blurt out something stupid – Delete. Gone… who me? I didn’t say that!  Come on, who doesn’t wish they had a real life ‘Take Back’ button to delete some dumb thing you’ve said or done? But here, your whole life is displayed through the filter of your choice. Like all those pretty ‘selfies’ we post. Just a tiny hint of ‘soft focus’… ahhh, that’s better.

I wrote this awhile back:

The Me On Paper

And I have to say, it’s probably the truest thing I’ve ever written.

Two years ago I moved out of California to Colorado. Moved to a mountain retreat in a small, low populated town. Introvert Heaven! So most of my interactions with friends and family are on Facebook. My mother has made a comment a few times that really sums this all up. She says, “I’ve learned more about my daughter now that she’s far away, than when she was here.”

I find that a little sad, if truth be told, but it’s me. In person I’m kind of a walnut, in a metal box, in a safe. A lot of shit to get through for me to open up. But, at least I’m finally opening up, right?

This post was born because I’ve read a few blog posts lately where other writers have said basically the same thing, in regards to being introverts. I think these forums of social media and blogging has really given a lot of us introverts a voice. A place where we can be open and share ourselves with more ease.

I think that’s a good thing and I know I’m better for it. I like to listen, but it’s nice being heard, too.

About Jody

This blog, like this girl is an ever-changing work in progress. The second I think I know myself I go and change. I write - some good, some bad. But, I write... I am a writer.
This entry was posted in life, musings, random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Social Media and the Introvert

  1. Phoenix. says:

    Absolutely true! I love how you’ve put it as having a filter for everything. Makes sense now. Though my MBTI type report tells me I’m extraverted, it describes me as “the least extraverted of the extraverts.”

    Awesome post. Relatable, too.

    Hereby, I cordially invite you to my blog – perfectphoenix.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jody says:

      I think alot of us introverts have been able to somewhat adapt to look like extroverts. But, it’s like Cinderella, you have to get outta there at a certain point or everything falls apart. And I will gladly accept your invite to check out your blog! Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pepper says:

    Social anxiety. Yes. I know it well. Suffered through my school years when the only time I was truly comfortable was on stage being someone else. That whole extrovert thing was fake for me so I couldn’t pull it off for long. My father, your grandfather had a classic case from childhood.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Perk Burnett says:

    Excellent post Jody. Perk AKA SSD

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I wonder how many of us hide from real interaction with others because we feel introverted? I know face to face encounters for me are a very real challenge. I think social media has given people an avenue once not there to express themselves the way they really are, as opposed to having to greet people through a facade.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.

