Seasons Change

FlashNano a challenge to write 30 stories in 30 days with a daily story prompt.

Flashnano Day 1: Write a story where something turns brown

img_5102

SPRING
I’m beautiful, tall and regal. I raise my arms to the sky and feel the warmth of the sun on my body. I’ve grown taller this year, my leaves are vivid green – full and lush. The grass around me is fresh and soft. It begs you to sit for a spell.

SUMMER
Every day – for months – you come outside and lean against me while writing in your journal. Some days you write nothing, you just nibble the end of your pen and stare off blankly into the distance. Other days you write so fast you barely look up.

FALL
Days pass and a chill sets in, the sun is not as warm, but you still come. You wear thick sweaters, scarves and hats pulled snugly over your ears, but you come. You often bring a camera along with your notebook, and take pictures of my colorful leaves. You exclaim, “Wow” as you click away, circling my vibrant display. You sit and lean against me, but I can feel you shiver. You spend less time with me, but I understand.

WINTER
You no longer come and I’m alone. My brown leaves lay dry and scattered around me. I stand stark and naked as the snow begins to fall. I see you in the frosty window looking out at me. You raise your hand to the glass, as if to wave, and mouth, “soon”.

We wait out winter together, but apart. Spring will be here before you know it and the warm sun will bring my green leaves back and you’ll be back too.

We wait… together, but apart.

About Jody

This blog, like this girl is an ever-changing work in progress. The second I think I know myself I go and change. I write - some good, some bad. But, I write... I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Fiction, short story, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seasons Change

  1. I love your take in the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Perk Burnett says:

    Beautiful Jody. Perk AKA SSD

    Like

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.

