Damaged Goods

FlashNano a challenge to write 30 stories in 30 days with a daily story prompt.

FlashNano Day 5: Write a story that takes place on Saturday

img_5136

🎶Saturday in the park, I think it was the Fourth of July…🎶

“Can you pull the blinds, the sun hurts my eyes?”

“Of course, how are you feeling today… I mean, considering… nevermind…stupid question, I’ll just shut the blinds,” the orderly headed towards the door, “I’m sorry, I’m new…”

“It’s fine, I’m fine,” she watched the young man leave the room and released the sheets she’d been clutching between her fingers. Her heartbeat began to regulate. Letting out a breath, “I’m fine”.

🎶People dancing, people laughing, a man selling ice cream… 🎶

The nurse came in, head down reading her chart and then looked up with a warm smile. “Still have a headache? I can give you –,”

“I’m fine.”

🎶Saturday in the park, I think it was the Fourth of July…🎶

“Please, turn that song off.”

Turning off the little radio, the nurse turned back to her, “There’s an officer here to speak to you, about your — incident… if you’re up to it now.”

“I-Is it a man or woman… the officer, I mean?” She asked.

The nurse touched her hand lightly, “A woman.”

“Ok,” taking another deep breath, “Ok, I’m fine”.

“She’s right outside, she’ll be in momentarily.”

Body still aching, she ran her finger gently over her swollen split lip and down to her throat where the chain had been digging in for days.

“I’m fine,” she said to the empty room and waited.

About Jody

Jody is a graphic designer and avid reader who lives in Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in Fiction, flash fiction, short story, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Damaged Goods

  1. Perk Burnett says:

    Excellent tail Jody. I loved it!! Perk AKA SSD

    Liked by 1 person

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.