For Whom The Bell Tolls

logo-wallpapers-clock-wallpaper-wallpaper-36269

Apparently, it tolls for me. Is there any sound more taunting or frustrating than a clock chiming the passing hours as you lay there awake? If only our brains had an off switch. As you prepare for bed at night, letting the dogs out one more time, getting the coffee maker set, locking doors, shutting off lights and finally, you reach behind your ear for your tiny OFF switch and your brain quiets for the night and peaceful sleep washes over you.

If only, but instead I lay in the dark as words and phrases write and rewrite themselves in my head. The more I find myself writing these days, the more I find these late night Word Battles going on in my head. “Say it like this, oh I like that, this is better…oh wait, that phrase is good…WRITE US DOWN NOW! DON’T FORGET US!”

The clock chimes 3am…

“If I grab my tablet and let you words out, will you promise to be quiet and let me sleep?”

“YES!” They cry in unison.

I trust them. My own words, trapped in my head, wouldn’t lie to me. I write them down…every well turned phrase that battled for recognition in my head was put down to be used later. When they were all laid out on the page, I shut off my tablet ready to be released into sleep.

The clock chimes 4am….Words lie.

About Jody

This blog, like this girl is an ever-changing work in progress. The second I think I know myself I go and change. I write - some good, some bad. But, I write... I am a writer.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments welcome, unless they'll make me cry.

